Portsmouth Museum and Fine Arts Commission

The Museum and Fine Arts Commission is the consultant and advisor to the City Council on all museum and fine art activities and programs.  The Commission serves as an advisor to the City Council on the management of the City museums.

Individuals appointed to the Museum & Fine Arts Commission are expected to demonstrate their support of the City Council goals and the Museums’ mission statements through attendance at the Museums’ functions which number approximately two per month; through Museum membership, recruitment of new members, and support of fundraising events; and through volunteer service, which includes serving on a standing committee.

The Commission is composed of fifteen members who shall be citizens of the City and are appointed by City Council.

Commission Meetings

The Commission meets the first Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the Children’s Museum of Virginia at 221 High Street.  The Commission does not meet in July and December.

Gladstone M. Hill Friend of the Arts & Humanities Award


(The nomination deadline has been extended until- July 29th)

FY2023 Cultural Arts Grants




2022-2023 Executive Board

Clifford King Harbin

Stacey Price

Regina McCoy


Ms. Donna Agresto-Seavey

Ms. Kathleen Cullen

Ms. Linda Dyer


Ms. Lisa Gardner

Ms. Clifford King Harbin

Ms. Amelia Horton

Mr. Charles Kalan

Ms. Patricia Knight

Ms. Regina McCoy

Ms. Stacy Price

Ms. Timiko Winn


Dr. Alex Benitez
Portsmouth Museums

Debra E. McDuffie
Administrative Support

Ms. Doris Shelton
African American Historical Society of Portsmouth

Gladstone Hill Friend of the Arts Award Recipients**

2022: Earline Lampman
2019: Karen Burgess
2018 : Sue Landerman
2017 : Alan Gollihue
2016: Kathy Batkin
2015 : Shelley Brooks
2014 : Martha F. Fortson
2013 : Barbara Vincent
2012 : Ms. Grace M. Armistead
2011 : Dr. John O. Joyce

2010 : Mr. Kenneth R. Woolard
2009 : Mr. & Mrs. John Larcombe
2008: Captain George Watkins
2007 : Olde Towne Business Association
2006 : Mrs. Jean H. Shackelford
2005 : Mr. William S. Hargroves
2004 : Dr. Pamela C. Kloeppel
2003 : Mr. J. Robert Burnell
2002 : Mrs. Zelma G. Rivin

2001 : Portsmouth Community Concerts
2000 : Ms. Ida Kay Jordan
1999 : Dr. Richard Singletary
1998 : Mrs. Betty Lambdin
1997 : Mrs. E. Ann Stokes
1996 : Mr. & Mrs. Alf J. Mapp, Jr.
1995 : Mrs. Jean Oast
1994 : Mr. John Paul Hanbury
1993 : Dr. & Mrs. Gladstone M. Hill

Additional Notes

* Members of the Executive Board are also members of the Commission.

** The Gladstone Hill Friend of the Arts Award is presents at the Seawall Art Show.